Srivideo | Famous Celebrity Database! | Narhari Amin Wiki, Profile, Family Update.

Narhari Amin

Member's Name: Amin, Shri Narhari
Constituency: Gujarat

Narhari Amin
Born/Date of Birthday: 5 June 1955
Place of Birth: Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Political party: Bharatiya Janata Party (2012-present)
Other political affiliations: Janata Dal (until 1999),
Indian National Congress (1999-2012)
Educational Qualification: B.Com., LL.B. Educated at Gujarat University, Ahmedabad
Profession: Trader and Industrialist, Political and Social Worker

Marital Status: Married on 13 May 1977
Spouse's Name: Shrimati Nita Narhari Amin
Children: One son
Parents: Shri Hiralal Ashabhai Amin, Shrimati Maniben Hiralal Amin
Permanent Address: 21-A, Vijay Colony, Near Sardar Patel Colony, Naranpura, Ahmedabad. Pincode-382424.
Tel.(Mobile)- 9825006667, 9868181341

Narhari Amin (born 5 June 1955) is a politician from Gujarat state of India. He is a member of the Indian Parliament (MP) affiliated with the Bharatiya Janta Party. Formerly he was a Deputy Chief Minister of Gujarat affiliated to the Indian National Congress in 1994. He left the Indian National Congress on 5 December 2012 after he was denied a ticket to contest the December 2012 state legislative assembly election. On 6 December 2012, he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Early life
Amin gained early experience in the Navnirman Andolan of 1974. The movement was so successful that Jayprakash Narayan was said to have been inspired by its force and success. Amin was one of the most identifiable faces of that movement and its success could be gauged from its ability to topple the government of the then Gujarat CM Chimanbhai Patel.

Political career
Amin had won the assembly election in 1990 from Sabarmati on Janata Dal ticket defeating Natver Patel of BJP by 9444 votes.

Subsequently Amin lost two consecutive elections in 1995 and 1998 with over 21000 votes to Yatin Ojha of the BJP.

In a by-election in 2001, Amin had then defeated BJP's Babu Patel with a margin of over 18000 votes. The seat had fallen vacant after the sitting BJP MLA Yatinbhai Oza had joined Congress.

He again faced a defeat from BJP's Jitendra Patel in the 2002 election with a huge margin of 59190 votes.

His last electoral defeat came in 2007, when he lost to young Congress turncoat Devusinh Jesingbhai Chauhan who defeated him in Matar with 7799 votes.

On 5 December 2012 after he was denied a ticket to contest the December 2012 state legislative assembly election he left the Indian National Congress and joined the Bharatiya Janata Party.

On 29 October 2013 he was made the vice president of the Planning Commission of Gujarat. He has held the post of deputy chief minister of the Gujarat state in his tenure for the Indian National Congress. He has thus been a recipient of various portfolios. He was also president of Gujarat Cricket Association and former vice-president of Board of Control for Cricket in India. He is also the director of Hiramani School at Ahmedabad.

He was elected to Rajya Sabha in 2020 Indian Rajya Sabha elections. During the election the first two candidates of BJP and first candidate of INC got 36 votes each. Amin received 32 first preference votes compared to 30 received by the second candidate of INC. Amin won with 35.98 votes after the addition of second preference votes (the other candidate got 31.99).

10-10-2022, 10:53
Go back