Srivideo | Famous Celebrity Database! | D. Ravikumar Wiki, Profile, Family Update.

D. Ravikumar

D.Ravikumar (writer)
Constituency: Viluppuram

Born/Date of Birthday: 29 May 1960
Place of Birth: Manganampattu, Nagapattinam, Tamil Nadu
Political Party: Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi
Educational Qualifications: M.A., B.L., Ph.d
Educated at: Tamil University (2017), Tamil University (2010), Annamalai University (1984), Annamalai University (1980)
Profession: Writer, Advocate, Politician
Occupation: VCK General Seceratory
Marital Status: Married
Date of Marriage: 15 Jun 1986
Spouse's Name: Smt. Senbagavalli
No. of Sons: 2
Parents: Shri Duraisamy V, Smt. Kanagammal
Permanent Address: 30&31, Bharatha Madha Street, Auroville (SO) Vanur Taluk, Distt. Villupuram, Tamil Nadu - 605101
Tel: 09443033305 (M)

D. Ravikumar (born 1961) is an Indian Tamil intellectual, writer, lawyer politician and an anti-caste activist. He was the editor of the magazine, Nirapirikai. Nirapirikai inspired several new writers in the 1990s in Tamil Nadu. He is an Ambedkarite. Ravikumar is the current Member of Parliament in the Lok Sabha from Viluppuram and member of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam.

Ravikumar is the founder of the anti-caste publishing house Navayana, along with S. Anand, and the former president of the People's Education Movement (Makkal Kalvi Eyakkam) and PUCL (Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry).

Ravikumar was elected to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from Kattumannarkoil, Cuddalore district, and served from 2006 to 2011. He was instrumental in bringing a new policy to handle EWaste in Tamil Nadu. The Tamil Nadu government started a skill development program and Kalaignar M. Karunanidhi, then Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, created six welfare boards, both at the request of Ravikumar.

In 2010, Ravikumar won the Aringar Anna Award, conferred by the Tamil Nadu Government. Vikatan Awards for Translation (2014) Thiranayvu chemmal award for literary criticism (2019) manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Bharathi Award (2019) Vitiyal Trust Chennai. villuppuram MP

Positions held




Short Stories




30-07-2022, 09:45
Go back